Wednesday, June 22, 2011

More south Indian languages in Google translate

From today onwards, Google translate supports five indian languages-Tamil,Telungu,Gujarati,kannada and Bengali. In India and Bangladesh alone, more than 500 million people speak these five languages.

Indic languages differ from English in many ways, presenting several exciting challenges when developing their respective translation systems.
Indian languages often use the Subject Object Verb (SOV) ordering to form sentences, unlike English, which uses Subject Verb Object (SVO) ordering. This difference in sentence structure makes it harder to produce fluent translations.

Transliteration of these languages are also enabled. For example, if you type in the word "nandri" it will generate the Tamil word நன்றி (see what it means). To see all these beautiful scripts in action, you’ll need to install fonts* for each language.

**Download the fonts for each language: Tamil, Telugu, Bengali, Gujarati and Kannada.

No comments:

Post a Comment